DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

Please read all instructions.

Do NOT take a driving safety course before you have followed the necessary procedures
to request this option from the court.

Instructions

On or before your initial appearance date (the court date/time stated on your ticket), you can
submit the required request, payment, and supporting information (see enumerated 5 items
listed below) through the USPS mail or other carrier or courier, or you may appear in person.

If applying by mail, please wait until you have received permission from the court before you
take the course. The court will send to you via return mail an affidavit to read, sign, and return,
as well additional information about how to select an approved Driving Safety Course and how
to retrieve your Type 3A driving record from the Texas DPS.

You will have 90 days in which to complete the course and submit the proper documents to the
court. Upon successful completion and return of these documents to the court, your citation will
be dismissed. Both documents—the signed Court Copy of the Uniform Certificate of Course
Completion and the certified Type 3A copy of your driving record—must be returned to the
Court on or before the 90th day to have your citation dismissed.

Driving Schools

The Court is not allowed to recommend a specific driving school. The Court will refer you to the
TDLR website for a list of approved classes from which you can select the class that best suits
your needs. You can take the course online or anywhere within the State of Texas as long as
the six-hour course is approved by TDLR. https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/driver/driver.htm

Consequences

If you fail to complete any one of the requirements by your due date, you will be responsible for
the balance of the fine in the amount of $200.00 and your case will be set for a Show Cause
Hearing. A summons will be mailed to the address that we have on file.

If you fail to appear at the hearing, a Judgment of Guilty will be entered for the violation and a
warrant will be issued.

NOTE: Itis YOUR responsibility as the defendant to contact the Court concerning your case.
The Court is not required by the State to contact you for any reason other than to summon a
defendant to a Show Cause Hearing.

You are responsible to ensure that the Court has current and accurate contact information for
you—a correct address where you receive mail (including your apartment or lot number) and a
current phone number.
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STEPS FOR REQUESTING THE DSC OPTION

The DSC option must be requested either in person or through the mail.

Request Made In Person

You may come to the Bulverde Municipal Court any day, Monday through Friday between
8:00 a.m. and 4:45 p.m., BEFORE your assigned court date to request the DSC option.
You must have your valid Texas driver’s license (or out-of-state DL and current, valid
Military ID), your proof of vehicle insurance (a paper copy), and the fee amount listed in #3
below with you when you come in to make your request. All required signature forms will be
generated by the Court at that time.

Request Made Through the Mail

If you make your request through the mail, you must provide the court with the following
five items:

1) A written statement requesting to take a Driving Safety Course to dismiss your citation
2) A written plea of either Guilty OR No Contest
3) Required payment of court costs and administrative fee to total:

a. $144.00 - non school zone violations

b. $169.00 - school zone violations

4) A copy of your valid Texas driver’s license or permit
(or valid out-of-state DL and valid, active duty military ID)

5) A copy of your proof of motor vehicle insurance that shows you are an insured driver on
the policy (no fleet or corporate blanket insurance policies will be accepted unless your
name is printed on the proof card as a covered driver on the policy)

Mail the above items to the Bulverde Municipal Court, 30360 Cougar Bend,
Bulverde, TX 78163

Do not send cash through the mail. You may send a personal check, cashier’s check, or
money order.

Please note: if you fail to pay the costs and fee or fail to submit all of the required information,
your request to take the Driving Safety Course cannot be processed and your citation will
remain as an outstanding citation.

If you have requested the DSC option through the mail, it is your responsibility to follow up with
the Court to ensure that payment and materials have been received and that your request is
being processed. After allowing for adequate mailing time, you may call the court at
830.438.3612 to confirm receipt. You may also opt to send your correspondence through
Certified Mail/Return Service Requested or other carrier or courier that offers delivery tracking.
Please be sure to write your return address on the outside of the envelope in the upper left
corner AND include it in the body of the correspondence you send to us.

NOTE: Itis YOUR responsibility as the defendant to contact the Court concerning your case.
The Court is not required by the State to contact you for any reason other than to summon a
defendant to a Show Cause Hearing.

You are responsible to ensure that the Court has current and accurate contact information for
you—a correct address where you receive mail (including your apartment or lot number) and a
current phone number.
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HOW TO READ YOUR TICKET

CITATION

E DEPARTMENT .
Casa Your ticket number

< The time & date the
ticket was issued

Citation #: 1554721
Date/Time: 12/08/2016 11:35 AM

Name: Joe Driver
Address: 1111 Home Place, Bulverde TX 78163

DOB: 1/1/1990 Sex: Male
Race: White Ethnicity: N. HISP
Hgt: 5' 09" Phone #: (830) 555-5555
ID/DL State: TX ID/DL# 11111111
License # XXX1111 State: TX
Year: 2008 Make: HONDA
Model: CR-V Type: Passenger Vehicle
Color: Black Hazd: No
Passengers: No VIN: ABCDE111111111111

Location: 100 BLK BULVERDE CROSSING

Where the ticket

County: Comal Traffic: LT .
was issued and
Direction: NB Day/Night: Day Road Cond.: Dry = EEi
various conditions
Constr Zn: No I Workers:No School Zn: No I, _ )
< If workers are present in a construction zone, you CANNOT
Alleged Speed: -- - Posted Speed: =- -~

take a Driving Safety Class to dismiss your ticket.
Accident: No Radar Cal : Yes If you are in a school zone, your fees for the Driving Safety

option are increased by $25.00, to total $169.00
Violation(s)

N

Speeding (Alleged Speed/Limit: 66/50) Your violation

lssued By: iD #

- BULVERDE MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE 30360 COUGAR BEND BULVERIL The address Of the
TX 78163 Municipal Court
' , Your court date
On: 1/11/2017 At: 2:00 PM -
and time

Annually traffic law violations are recorded as a factor in about 85% of the rural
traffic accidents in Texas. Approximately 80% of the traffic deaths in Texas occur

on rural highways. The Enforcement actions taken against you and any subsequent
court actions are intended to secure compliance with the traffic laws by you and all
other users ofthe highways. Failure to comply with your written promise to appear
in the court as made on this citation will constitute a separate offense with which

you may be charged and result in failure to satisfy a judgement ordering the
payment of a fine and costin the manner ordered by the court may resultin the
denial of renewal of your driver's license.

"A second or subsequent conviction of an offense under the Texas Motor
Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of your driver's
license and motor vehicle registration unless you file and maintain evidence
of financial responsibility with the Department of Public Safety for two (2)
years from the date of conviction. The Department may waive the
requirements to file evidence of financial responsibility if you file satisfactory
evidence with the Department showing that at the time this citation was
Issued, the vehicle was covered by a motor vehicle liability insurance policy
or that you were otherwise exempt from the requirements to provide evidence
of financial responsibility.”

You may be able to require that this charge be dismissed by successfully
completing a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course. You will
lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court
with notice of your request to take the course.

"A conviction of an offense under a traffic law of this state or
political subdivision of this state may resuilt in the assessment on
your driver's license of a surcharge under the Driver Responsibility
Program.”

Violator Copy



